Physician of the Year Award


The Outstanding Physician Award recognizes a physician who has made exceptional contributions to the clinical care of patients with Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis. In addition, the recipient is acknowledged by patients and families as a caring and dedicated healthcare provider who has made a substantial impact to the delivery of clinical care of Crohn’s and colitis patients. This award celebrates those specialists who have displayed a steadfast commitment to their patients, serving as both physician and patient advocate, often beyond normal “office” hours. 

The deadline for nominations is August 15 – 5 PM EST

To nominate an individual for the Physician of the year award, click HERE.

Past recipients:
2017      Dr. Jennifer Jones, Halifax, NS
2016      Dr. Tony Otley, Halifax, NS

  • Canada has among the highest incidence rates of Crohn's and colitis in the world.
  • 1 in 150 Canadians lives with Crohn’s or colitis.
  • Families new to Canada are developing these diseases for the first time.
  • Incidence of Crohn’s in Canadian kids under 10 has doubled since 1995.
  • People are most commonly diagnosed before age 30.

Other Areas of Interest